Understanding the Different Types of Locksmith Certifications

Before you hire a locksmith, you should take a look at this guide that explains the different types of locksmith certifications and what those certifications are for. We’ll go over the most common certs a locksmith will need to become a certified locksmith, as well as other certifications available.

Getting locked out of your home, business, vehicle or other locking mechanisms can be quite frustrating and stressful. That’s why you need a trusted locksmith on hand that you can call to get you into the place that you’re locked out of. But, how can you know that the locksmith you’re calling is reputable and reliable?

You’ll want to make sure that they have all the proper locksmith certifications provided by the Associated Locksmiths of America, also known as the ALOA.

These certifications range from apprentice level to Master Techs. And, depending on your lockout will also depend on which level of certification is required to get you in.

Whether you’re looking toward a career in locksmithing, or you’re wondering how to hire a locksmith, you’re in the right place. In this article, we’re breaking down the different locksmith certifications that one can obtain to be the best at what they do. Keep reading to learn more.

ALOA Locksmith Certifications

The ALOA and the Safe and Vault Locksmith Technicians Association, also known as SAVTVA, are the two entities that provide testing and certifications to locksmiths. Here’s a breakdown of the different certifications. Knowing these certifications will give you a better understanding of what to expect the next time you have to call a locksmith.

Or, if you’re interested in becoming a locksmith, you’ll know what to expect in your training.

ALOA Fundamental Locksmith

Becoming a fundamental locksmith is the first step toward becoming a locksmith. This is not a certification. It guarantees, however, that your locksmith has at least apprentice level training.

Certified Registered Locksmith (CRL)

A registered locksmith is the first certification level available after an apprenticeship. It requires ten categorized training modules and two elective modules. This is the first real level of locksmithing certifications.

Certified Professional Locksmith (CPL)

A CPL is the second tier of locksmithing certifications. A locksmith will earn this designation by completing an additional 12 elective categories in training.

Certified Master Locksmith (CML)

A CML is the highest level of certification. This certification states that a locksmith is at least 90% proficient in all levels of the program.

Certified Professional Safe Technician (CPS)

If you’re looking for a locksmith that can get you into a safe or vault, then you’ll want one with a CPS certification. A CPS will have proficiently completed at least seventeen safe and vault related categories.

Certified Master Safe Technician (CMST)

A CMST has completed all training and demonstrated proficiency in all areas of safe and vault related categories. He or she probably has some on the job training.

Final Thoughts

Obtaining your locksmith certifications will only help you grow in your field. The higher your certification levels, the higher the salary you can expect. Not to mention that you’ll be considered reliable and trustworthy by both employers and potential customers.

Besides increasing your potential, you’ll also experience a significant boost in motivation, self-satisfaction, and confidence. These attributes will only make you a better locksmith in the long run.

If you’re looking for locksmithing services, make sure to ask about these certifications so that you can hire a locksmith that you can trust to get the job done right, the first time.

And, contact us! We offer office hours and 24-hour emergency mobile service.